MYSORE YOGA

Ashtanga yoga, in its traditional form, is taught in the "Mysore style". This is a method whereby the student is taught the series, pose by pose, memorizing as they go. As the student becomes proficient with each posture, the teacher continues to give postures, working with each student individually & helping the student to develop a self practice. 

WHAT IS ASHTANGA

Ashtanga means "eight limbs" and therefore Ashtanga yoga is the eight limbs of yoga. Asana is known to be the 3rd limb, which are the physical postures that in the West we call Yoga. Asana is the part of the practice that is the easiest way to begin. The other 7 limbs can be accessed through our physical practice. The first two - yama & niyama - how you treat others & how you treat yourself - become an integral part of the practice very quickly. Pranayama is a practice that comes when the asana practice is steady. And the last four are developed as we practice when it organically seems time for them to happen. 

 

How to start Mysore Style

Just come! The first class will be like a one on one private class in a group setting. The teacher or assistant will work closley with you, teaching you the first section of the Primary sequence. As the student memorises the poses, much more independence is given. But as you learn you will be fully supported by the teaching team. Mysore Style is an open practice time, meaning you may come and start your practice anytime between the scheduled hours. Simply leave enough time to finish your practice before the scheduled hours end.

 

Moon Days

Moon Days, when the moon is full or new, we take rest. These days happen bi-weekly & are welcomed when practicing the traditional 6 day per week practice! Dates for 2018 are listed below.

 

Full Moon

Mysore Toronto - Full Moon

 Tuesday January 2
Wednesday January 31
Thursday March 1
Saturday March 31
Sunday April 29
Tuesday May 29
Thursday June 28
Friday July 27
Sunday August 26
Monday September 24
Wednesday October 24
         Friday November 23           Saturday December 22 

 

 

 

New Moon

Mysore Toronto - New Moon

Tuesday January 16
Thursday February 15
Saturday March 17
Monday April 16
Tuesday May 15
Wednesday June 13
Thursday July 12
Saturday August 11
Sunday September 9
Monday October 8
Wednesday November 7
Friday December 7